A Farewell to Smokin’

As our summer days come to an end, so does my internship.

For the past six months, I’ve had the opportunity to intern at the digital marketing agency Smokin’ Hot Solutions as well as its affiliates Kannakart and Cannavation. This was my first internship where I could actually see myself applying what I learned to my career.

Smokin’ Hot Solutions is based in Philadelphia. I eased into it by working remotely from the University of Tampa until I returned home for summer. However, home is not in Philadelphia; it’s in Downingtown. Every other day, I left the house at 8:30 am and arrived at 10:30 am. A mile walk, a train ride, a subway, four blocks, and back again. I’ve never had a commute like this and only know very few who’ve had one more tiring.

Screen Shot 2017-08-15 at 10.48.47 PM

As I did it for the last time today, I can safely say the plethora of tools I’ve gained outweighed every method of transportation.

My main focus was public relations. I was able to create press releases and send them to news outlets I’ve never dreamed of communicating with as an intern. Even so, I organized networking events where I convinced journalists, sponsors, and guests to attend. I discovered email marketing. I edited photos and watermarked them for Kannakart. I personally took photos of products even though it didn’t go too well, but hey, they gave me the opportunity anyway.

Although this certainly will not be my last internship, I can’t imagine another that not only will offer so many different fields of experience, but also give me a sense of family in the workplace.

Special thanks to the other interns I was able to work with as well as Jon, Andrew, Khalil, Ken, and Claudia.

And Claudia’s cats.

IMG_4378

Leave a comment